BYU collects six nominations for Utah's State of Sport Awards


PROVO, Utah — BYU has received six nominations for Utah’s Fourth-Annual Governor’s State of Sport Awards.

Four of the Cougars' six nominations came from the BYU women's volleyball team, with Alexa Gray and Jennifer Hamson (volleyball & basketball) receiving nominations for Collegiate Female Athlete of the Year, head coach Shawn Olmstead in the running for Coach of the Year and the entire Cougar squad receiving a nod as Team of the Year.

To round out the BYU nominations, Tyler Haws (basketball) was nominated as Collegiate Male Athlete of the Year and Taysom Hill hurdling a Texas defender (football) was nominated as the Event/Highlight of the Year.

Nominations for the awards are based on achievements from the 2014 calendar year and were selected by a committee comprised of various members of the sports media and industry leaders throughout Utah.

Governor Gary Herbert will speak at the ceremony and present awards to winners in nine categories. Jay Leno is this year's special guest along with 2015's Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Stein Eriksen. The ceremony will be held Tuesday, April 21, at EnergySolutions Arena. 

Fan voting has begun and is open until midnight on Sunday, April 19. Anyone can vote once per device per 24 hours. To vote, go to the State of Sport Awards website and click on the 'Go Vote' icon.