Strong finish for BYU track and field at NCAA West Prelims


Facebook Photo Gallery

Complete Results

LAWRENCE, Kansas – After a rainy weekend with many delays, BYU finished the 2016 NCAA West Preliminaries to have a total of 13 athletes competing in 10 events headed to Eugene, Oregon, to compete in the 2016 NCAA Championships.

“It was really a great couple of days. We saw that our athletes stepped up and if they didn’t make it they went down fighting hard and went down swinging,” BYU track and field head coach Ed Eyestone said. “This is what we train for all year long. The stakes are really high and sometimes people freeze up, but we were really calm and even though it was really intense I think we got the best performances out of everybody. I think it’s a testament to the hard work that the coaching staff puts in to get our athletes ready for this meet.”

During the second day of the preliminaries, Chase Horrocks and Rory Linkletter added to the list of athletes qualified for the championships. Horrocks qualified in the 1,500m with a time of 3:44.06. He finished ninth overall and the time is a new season best for Horrocks. Linkletter qualified in the 5,000m with a time of 14:16.05 and placed 12th overall.

The men’s 4x400m relay team also qualified Saturday, placing 11th overall. Eyestone said Tyrell Yardley, Max Sheible, Jesse White, and Shaquille Walker put in an excellent team effort in order to get the qualifying time.

For a full list of results and qualifiers see the chart below.   

The qualified athletes will head to Eugene, Oregon to compete in the championhips starting Wednesday, June 8, to Saturday, June 10. 

Day one recap. 

Day two recap. 


Yesenia Silva10,000m37:08.1141stDid not qualify (DNQ)
Natalie Shields-Connolly10,000m37:26.4342nd


Shea Martinez-Collinsworth800m2:04.821st800m NCAA Quarterfinals (Thursday, June 9 6:14 p.m. MDT)
Lauren Ellsworth800m2:09.7928thDNQ
Kensey Berry800m2:20.0146thDNQ
Kaylee Packham400m hurdles1:01.5541st DNQ
Kristi Rush3000m steeplechase10:24.4120thDNQ
Lauren Shubin3000m steeplechase10:52.3937thDNQ
Erin MerkleyHigh jump1.71m18thDNQ
Andrea StapletonHigh jump1.71m22ndDNQ
Anginae MonteverdePole vault3.97m23rdDNQ
Nicole NaatjesPole vault3.82m36thDNQ
Sierra HansenPole vault3.82m39thDNQ
Kylee TrageserPole vault3.82m44thDNQ
Ashleigh Warner1500m 4:33.0037thDNQ
Alyssa Monteverde-Dalton100m hurdles13.3615thDNQ
Madison PachnerDiscus52.3114thDNQ
Sadie NielsenDiscus48.8729th









Connor McMillan10,000m29:54.478th10,000m NCAA Finals (Wednesday, June 8 7:00 p.m. MDT)
Jonathan Harper10,000m30:11.5218thDNQ
Clayton Young10,000m30:45.5333rdDNQ
Tatenda Tsumba100m10.4821stDNQ
Jesse White 400m 46.5211th400m NCAA Semifinals (Wednesday, June 8 6:00 p.m MDT)
Tyrell Yardley400m48.6044thDNQ
Shaquille Walker800m1:48.072nd800m NCAA Semifinals (Wednesday, June 8 6:15 p.m. MDT)
Connor Ross800m1:49.7921stDNQ
Max Scheible400m hurdles51.8617thDNQ
Mark Carlson400m hurdles52.5128thDNQ
Aaron Fletcher3,000m steeplechase8:46.588th3,000m steeplechase NCAA Semifinals (Wednesday, June 8 5:00 p.m. MDT)
Tyler Crofts3,000m steeplechase9:14.3432ndDNQ
Mitchell Briggs3,000m steeplechase9:22.9041stDNQ
Tomi Adegoke Long jump6.73m44thDNQ
Wyatt WarnickJavelin65.21m19thDNQ
Kraymer EppichJavelin58.59m37thDNQ
Zachary BlackhamHigh jump2.16m7thHigh jump NCAA Finals (Friday, June 10 5:00 p.m. MDT)
Chase Horrocks1,500m3:44.069th1,500m NCAA Semifinals (Wednesday, June 8 4:45 p.m. MDT)
Marcus Dickson1,500m3:45.3319thDNQ
Dillon Goodman110m hurdles14.4335thDNQ
Tatenda Tsumba200m21.0022ndDNQ
Jesse White200m21.2733rdDNQ
Rory Linkletter5,000m14:16.0512th5,000m NCAA Finals (Friday, June 10 7:25 p.m. MDT)
Dylan Shawhan5,000m14:22.1415thDNQ
Craig MerkleyDiscus53.26m25thDNQ
Jefferson JarvisShot Put17.08m37thDNQ
Jackson WalkerDecathlon7403---Decathlon NCAA Finals (Wednesday, June 8 12:00 p.m. MDT)
Dennis ChristensenShot Put16.61m43rdDNQ
Derek Lord, Tatenda Tsumba, Drew Tingey, Michael Abbott4x100m Relay40.4218thDNQ
Tyrell Yardley, Mark Carlson, Jesse White, Shaquille Walker4x400m Relay3:05.7911th4x400m Relay NCAA Semifinals (Wednesday, June 8 7:45 p.m. MDT)