Eyestone, Bryant win MPSF honors


WOODLAND, Calif. – The Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) released its 2023 indoor track and field awards Wednesday as BYU Director of Track and Field Ed Eyestone was named the Men's and Women's Coach of the Year while thrower Danny Bryant took home Men's Athlete of the Meet.

The No. 21 BYU women's and No. 25 men's teams swept the MPSF Indoor Championships last weekend in Spokane, Washington. Eyestone has now overseen four straight MPSF indoor titles for the men, achieved only one other time in MPSF Men's Indoor Track and Field history (UCLA, 2002-05). The Cougar men took home eight of 17 event titles while the women now have back-to-back team championships after winning seven event titles.

The honors marks Eyestone's fifth and sixth MPSF Coaching award in the Cougars' final year in the conference before joining the Big 12 next season. Similarly, Eyestone won both coach awards last year.

Danny Bryant repeated as MPSF shot put champion in just two years of collegiate action, racking up 16 of the men's 160 total points to equal the highest MPSF point total ever in field competition. The sophomore from Valencia, California registered a heave of 17.20m/56-5.25 in the victory.

The mark ensured that Bryant became the first BYU thrower to win consecutive indoor conference shot put titles since Leif Arrhenius claimed three straight between 2009 and 2011, and the first BYU thrower with back-to-back MPSF men's championships since the Cougars joined the conference in 2012.

He also delivered a personal-best in the weight throw on the first day of competition by over four feet at 18.49m/60-8 to take third-place overall.