Rex named to the Mackey watch list for a third consecutive season

For the third straight year, BYU tight end Isaac Rex has been named to the John Mackey Award Watch List, presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding tight end.

John Mackey Award 2023 Isaac Rex_0John Mackey Award 2023 Isaac Rex_0

NEW YORK — For the third straight year, BYU tight end Isaac Rex has been named to the John Mackey Award Watch List, presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding tight end.

A native of San Clemente, California, Rex was also recently named to the 2023 Phil Steele Preseason All-Big 12 Fourth Team. The 6-6, 255-pound junior has played in 40 games for the Cougars over the past four seasons and is currently tied for No. 2 all-time with former Consensus All-American Dennis Pitta at BYU in career touchdown receptions by a tight end with 21. 

In addition to being on the Mackey Award Watch List for the previous two seasons, Rex was also named Phil Steele All-Independent First Team in 2020, 2021 and 2022 and was also selected to the College Football Network All-Independent Second Team in 2022. 

In 2020, Rex was ranked No. 1 in the nation among freshman tight ends in receptions with 37, receiving yards with 429 and receiving touchdowns with 12. He also ranked No. 3 nationally in receiving touchdowns among all positions and was named Freshman All-American by The Athletic and Phil Steele. 

Rex is the son of former BYU tight end Byron Rex. The senior Rex totaled 87 receptions, 1,209 yards and seven touchdowns in his career for the Cougars. He earned All-America honors as a senior in 1992 after posting 45 catches, 612 yards and five scores. 
The recipient of the annual Mackey Award is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee comprised of sportswriters and former players. 

As part of the National College Football Awards Association, which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football, the Mackey Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPN in December. 

Dedicated to the life of hall-of-fame tight end, John Mackey, the award seeks to recognize true passion, dedication and at the same time raise health awareness for the game of football in schools, especially in colleges and among the youth. 

Mackey was one of the great leaders in NFL history, on and off the field. He played in the NFL for 10 years and was elected to the Pro Bowl five times. Mackey also played in two Super Bowls, including the Baltimore Colts win in Super Bowl V. Later as the head of the NFL Players Association, where he was a courageous advocate for the NFL players, helping to expand free agency rights, increase pension benefits and improve injury protection programs.


John Mackey Award Watch List

Erick All Iowa
Elijah Arroyo Miami
AJ Barner Michigan
Gavin Bartholomew Pitt
Jaheim Bell Florida State
Brock Bowers Georgia
Jake Briningstool Clemson
Sean Brown Jacksonville State
Oscar Cardenas UTSA
Jalin Conyers Arizona State
John Copenhaver North Carolina
Devin Culp Washington
Oscar Delp Georgia
CJ Dipper Alabama
Mason Fairchild Kansas
Rivaldo Fairweather Auburn
Terrance Ferguson Oregon
Nick Gallo Virginia Tech
Donovan Green Texas A&M
Brady Hunt Ball State
Neal Johnson Louisiana
Theo Johnson Penn State
Trey Knox South Carolina
Brant Kuite Utah
Luke Lachey Iowa
Johnny Langan Rutgers
Colston Loveland Michigan
David Martin-Robinson Temple
Josiah Miamen FIU
Bryson Nesbit North Carolina
Trent Pennix NC State
Caden Prieskorn Ole Miss
Mark Redman San Diego State
Tip Reiman Illinois
Isaac Rex BYU
Carson Ryan UCLA
Ja’Tavion Sanders Texas
Ben Sinnott Kansas
Brevyn Spann-Ford Minnesota
Austin Stogner Oklahoma
Cade Stover Ohio State
George Takacs Boston College
Mason Tayor LSU
Michael Trigg Ole Miss
Jacob Warren Tennessee
Jared Wiley TCU
Thomas Yasmin Utah
Benjamin Yurosek Stanford