admin | Posted: 23 Oct 2013 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Van Noy named Lott IMPACT Trophy Quarterfinalist

main image

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. – BYU Linebacker Kyle Van Noy has been named a quarterfinalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, it was announced today by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, sponsors of the annual award.

Van Noy is a 6-3, 245-pound senior from Reno, Nevada.  He’s been named a mid-season All-American by several publications and has 11 tackles for loss and four sackes among his 45 tackles. He has also recorded a safety and returned an interception for a touchdown.

Twenty players have been named to the list of quarterfinalists. 

There are 11 linebackers on the list, seven defensive backs and two defensive linemen.  In the nine years of the Lott Trophy, linebackers have won four times, defensive linemen four times and defensive backs once.

UCLA, with Anthony Barr and Eric Kendricks, is the only school with two players on the quarter-finalist list. 

Eight semi-finalists for the award will be announced Nov. 13, four finalists will be announced Nov. 27 and the winner at the 10th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Banquet Dec. 8 at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach.  The university of the winner will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund and each of the other finalists will receive $5,000 for their schools’ general scholarship fund. 

Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott will be the keynote speaker and the awards ceremony will be televised on FOX Sports beginning at 7 p.m Pacific time.  

The Quarterfinalists

Anthony Barr,LB, UCLA

Chirs Borland, LB, Wisconsin

Max Bullough, LB, Michigan State

Ibraheim Campbell, DB, Northwestern

Alden Darby, DB, Arizona State

Aaron Donald, DT, Pittsburgh

Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, DB, Oregon

Bryce Hager, LB, Baylor

Lamarcus Joyner, DB, Florida State

Eric Kendricks, LB, UCLA

Devon Kennard, LB, USC

James Morris, LB, Iowa

C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama

Ed Reynolds, S, Stanford

Ryan Shazier, LB, Ohio State

Spencer Shuey, LB, Clemson

Derron Smith, DB, Fresno State

Stephon Tuitt, DL, Notre Dame

Kyle Van Noy, LB, BYU

Jason Verrett, CB, TCU

Along with the National Voter Panel, college football fans can now influence The Lott IMPACT Player of The Week by voting online. Go online at or cast your vote. Voting will open each Sunday at 8 A.M. pdt. as the candidates  for the Lott IMPACT Player of the Week are announced. Voting will close at 8 A.M. pdt. each Tuesday morning throughout the season.

Previous winnes of the Lott IMPACT Trophy

2004–David Pollack, DE, Georgia

2005-DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama

2006-Dante Hughes, DB, Cal

2007-Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU

2008-James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State

2009-Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU

2010-J.J. Watt, DL, Wisconsin

2011-Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College

2012-Manti Te’o, LB, Notre Dame