rachelhawks | Posted: 7 Nov 2013 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Van Noy named Lombardi Award semifinalist

main image

PROVO, Utah -- BYU outside linebacker Kyle Van Noy was named a semifinalist for the Rotary Lombardi Award Thursday.

A candidate for many national awards, Van Noy was named to seven preseason award watch lists and has garnered preseason and midseason first-team All-America recognition in 2013 for his unique talents and stellar performances. Van Noy has recorded four sacks, 11 tackles for loss, 11 quarterback hurries, six pass breakups, one fumble recovery and one interception for a touchdown this year in addition to recording a safety among his 47 tackles. 

The 6-foot-3, 245-pound senior outside backer is the only FBS player the past two seasons to record a statistic in every major defensive category while also scoring a BYU record five touchdowns as a defender over his career. He has scored a touchdown during each season at BYU, including two pick-six interception returns and three fumble recoveries for TDs, and added a safety to his points-producing resume this year. 

To learn more about Kyle Van Noy go to KVN3.com.

Eight defensive and four offensive players comprise the list of 12 semifinalists for the 44th Rotary Lombardi Award. The winner will be announced Dec. 11, 2013, at an event at the Wortham Center in Houston. 

The SEC Conference leads the pack with four players, followed by the Pac 12 with three, the ACC with two followed by the Big 10 and the Big 12 with one each and one Independent.

Rotary Lombardi Award Semifinalists

Anthony Barr                        Sr        LB       UCLA

Vic Beasley                           Jr        DE       Clemson

Jadeveon Clowney               Jr        DE       South Carolina

Aaron Donald                       Sr        DE       Pittsburg

Taylor Lewan                        Sr        T         Michigan

Jake Matthews                      Sr        T         Texas A&M

CJ Mosley                              Sr        LB       Alabama

Trent Murphy                        Sr        LB       Stanford

Cyril Richardson                  Sr        G         Baylor

Michael Sam                         Sr        DE       Missouri

Kyle Van Noy                       Sr        LB       Brigham Young

David Yankey                       Jr         T         Stanford

For tickets and sponsorship information, visit www.rotarylombardiaward.org.

The Rotary Lombardi Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site, www.NCFAA.org.