admin | Posted: 22 Nov 2016 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Kai Nacua named a finalist for Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award

main image

HONOLULU – The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced today BYU defensive back Kai Nacua has been named one of five finalists for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award. 

The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding Polynesian college football player that epitomizes great ability and integrity.  University of Oregon and Tennessee Titans quarterback Marcus Mariota was selected as the inaugural recipient of the award in 2014, and Notre Dame and Baltimore Ravens offensive lineman Ronnie Stanley was selected as the recipient in 2015.

Nacua leads BYU in interceptions this season with five, tied for No. 6 nationally. He was named a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award and has 41 total tackles, 1.5 tackles for loss, one forced fumble and one fumble recovery this year. 

The five Finalists for 2016 include TE Cole Hikutini (University of Louisville), QB Sefo Liufau (University of Colorado), DT Lowell Lotulelei (University of Utah), DB Kai Nacua (Brigham Young University), and WR Juju Smith-Schuster (University of Southern California).

The Finalists were chosen by a selection committee composed of past head football coaches Dick Tomey (Chairman), LaVell Edwards, Ron McBride and Dick Vermeil, ESPN SportsCenter anchor Neil Everett, NFL player personnel expert Gil Brandt, past NFLPA president Kevin Mawae (Polynesian Football HOF Inaugural Inductee) and Hawai’i sportscaster Robert Kekaula.

“On behalf of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame selection committee, we congratulate this year’s finalists,” said Dick Tomey, selection committee chairman. “Each of these student-athletes has had an incredible season.”

The winner of the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on Dec. 8. The formal presentation of the Award will be held at the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Celebration Dinner (Jan. 20, 2017) along with being recognized at the inaugural Polynesian Bowl (Jan. 21, 2017).