admin | Posted: 31 May 2018 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

ESPN, BYUtv announce television plans for five BYU football games

main image
Image

PROVO, Utah — BYU, along with ESPN and BYUtv today announced game times and broadcast plans for five of the 2018 Cougar football games, including Arizona, Cal, Wisconsin, McNeese State and Utah State. 

BYU’s season opener on Saturday, Sept. 1 against Arizona will be a national telecast on ESPN with a 7:45 p.m. PT kickoff from Arizona Stadium, in Tucson. The following week, BYU will return home to host the Cal Bears on Saturday, Sept. 8 at LaVell Edwards Stadium with kickoff at 8:15 p.m. MT on ESPN2 or ESPNU. The BYU-Wisconsin matchup on Saturday, Sept. 15 at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison, is slated for 2:30 p.m. CT on ABC, ESPN or ESPN2. 

BYU versus McNeese State on Saturday, Sept. 22 will be televised nationally on BYUtv and ESPN3 from Provo with kickoff scheduled for 4 p.m. MT. The Utah State game on Friday, Oct. 5 in Provo will be broadcast nationally on ESPN2 beginning at 7 p.m. MT. 

To date, television plans for six of BYU’s 12 games have been announced. The initial television plan for the BYU matchup with Boise State at Albertson Stadium on Saturday, Nov. 3 was previously announced as an ESPN broadcast with the specific channel to be determined later. Broadcast plans and game times for the remaining six games will be announced at a later date. 

BYU’s 2018 football schedule features a 12-game regular-season slate against schools from five conferences—Big Ten, Pac-12, Mid-American, Mountain West, Southland—and fellow independents UMass and New Mexico State. 

BYU’s opponents represent 11 different states, including Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, New Mexico, Utah, Washington and Wisconsin.

BYU season tickets are currently available through BYUtickets.com or by calling 801-422-BYU1 (2981).

2018 BYU Football Games—TV Announcements (to date)

Sat. Sept. 1 --- BYU @ Arizona --- 10:45pm ET/7:45pm PT on ESPN 

Sat. Sept. 8 --- Cal @ BYU --- 10:15pm ET/8:15pm MT on ESPN2 or ESPNU 

Sat. Sept. 15 --- BYU @ Wisconsin --- 3:30pm ET/1:30pm MT on ABC or ESPN or ESPN2

Sat. Sept. 22 --- McNeese State @ BYU --- 6pm ET/4pm MT on BYUtv and ESPN3 

Fri. Oct. 5 --- Utah State @ BYU --- 9pm ET/7pm MT on ESPN2

Sat. Nov. 3 --- BYU @ Boise State --- Time TBD on ESPN Networks