Ari Davis | Posted: 19 Dec 2018 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Phil Steele All-Independent Team features seven BYU football players

main image

CLEVELAND – Seven BYU football players have been named to the 2018 Phil Steele All-Independent Team.

Four BYU football players earned first-team honors including defensive lineman Corbin Kaufusi, linebacker Sione Takitaki, offensive tackle Austin Hoyt and tight end Matt Bushman. Second-team selections include linebacker Isaiah Kaufusi, punter Rhett Almond and long snapper Mitch Harris.

Corbin Kaufusi led the team with 9.5 tackles for loss, including 8.5 sacks. He ranks No. 5 all-time at BYU for total career sacks with 17. He finished the season with 56 total tackles including 38 solo stops. Takitaki leads the team in total tackles at 99 with 65 solo stops. The linebacker has tallied 8.0 tackles for loss, two sacks and one forced fumble.

Bushman leads the team with 459 total receiving yards on 25 receptions, averaging 18.4 yards per catch. The tight end has totaled six touchdowns this season and caught a career-long 39 yard reception at No. 11 Washington. Hoyt has started and played in all 12 games this season, totaling 30 starts over his career.

Isaiah Kaufusi finished the season with 50 tackles including 30 solo stops. He tallied two interceptions, six tackles for loss, and one sack on the season.

As BYU’s primary punter, Almond has racked up 2,177 total yards, averaging 40.3 yards per punt. Harris is the Cougars' primary long snapper for field goals, PATs and punts. He has two tackles with the special teams unit and forced one fumble against No. 10 Washington.

Recent Stories

Big 12 Graphic
BYU announces 2023 football schedule and inaugural Big 12 matchups

In conjunction with the Big 12 Conference release of its 2023 football matchups, BYU announced Tuesday its inaugural…

2022 BYU football season review
BYU Football: 2022 Season Review

Playing a schedule that included a school-record 10 bowl-bound teams in its final season as a football independent, BYU…