Kenny Cox | Posted: 21 Jul 2020 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Empey, Tonga named to 2020 Outland Trophy Watch List

main image
Empey Outland 2020

DALLAS – BYU football players James Empey and Khyiris Tonga were named to the 2020 Outland Trophy Watch List, recognizing the best interior linemen in college football on Tuesday. 

BYU is one of 17 schools with two players on the list. The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. 

Empey, a junior from American Fork, Utah, has started all 26 games at center in his first two seasons. Pro Football Focus rated him the No. 10 returning offensive lineman for 2020. 

A senior from West Valley, Utah, Tonga has played in 39 games in his career with 21 starts on the defensive line. In 2019, Tonga posted 45 tackles and 4.0 tackles for loss. He was also named to the 2020 Nagurski Trophy Watch List, given to the most outstanding defensive lineman. 

BYU has two Outland Trophy winners, defensive lineman Jason Buck in 1986 and offensive lineman Mohammed Elewonibi in 1989.

2020 BYU Watch List Honors
Doak Walker Award (RB) – Lopini Katoa
Mackey Award (TE) – Matt Bushman
Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman) – James Empey, Khyiris Tonga
Nagurski Trophy (Defensive player) – Khyiris Tonga