Brett Pyne | Posted: 22 Dec 2020 | Updated: 4 Jan 2021

Jeff Grimes one of five finalist for Broyles Award

main image
Jeff Grimes Finalist for Broyles Award

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — BYU offensive coordinator Jeff Grimes has been named one of five finalists for the 2020 Boyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coach.

The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announced the finalists on Tuesday for the 2020 Broyles Award. The five finalists were selected from 15 semifinalist who were recognized from approximately 1,270 assistant coaches representing 127 Division I programs across the country. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), broadcasters, a college football hall-of-fame selection committee and current college head coaches.

A 28-year coaching veteran, Grimes and his strong staff of offensive coaches have helped BYU become a top-10 offense in 2020 while earning a 10-1 record to rank No. 13/15 nationally. The Cougars currently ranked No. 8 in total offense at 510.1 yards per game while ranking No. 6 in scoring offense at 43.0 points per game. BYU's offense ranks in the top 15 in 10 different NCAA statistical categories.

A 43-member selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters, and a committee representing the FWAA selected the 15 semifinalists and five finalists from the list of nominees and will select the overall winner.

The winner of the 2019 Broyles Award was Joe Brady, passing game coordinator at LSU. Previous winners are not eligible to be nominated for the Broyles Award until the completion of three seasons.

The 2020 Boyles Award finalists:

ALABAMA, Steve Sarkisian, Offensive Coordinator / QB
BYU, Jeff Grimes, Offensive Coordinator
CINCINNATI, Marcus Freeman, Defensive Coordinator / LB
INDIANA, Kane Wommack, Defensive Coordinator / LB
NORTHWESTERN, Mike Hankwitz, Defensive Coordinator

Proceeds from the 2020 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide a game plan through education, support, and resources to Alzheimer’s caregivers. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his hall of fame career as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on FacebookInstagram and Twitter.

Recent Stories

2021 BYU free agent signings
UPDATE: Eight BYU players receive NFL free-agent agreements after five Cougars drafted

After five BYU players were picked in this year’s NFL Draft, eight more Cougars from the 2020 team have reached…

Five BYU players drafted in 2021 NFL Draft
Five Cougars drafted overall as Tonga, Wilcox, Milne selected on Saturday

Five BYU players were drafted in the 2021 NFL Draft—the most since 2002—as defensive lineman Khyiris Tonga, cornerback…

Brady Christensen drafted
BYU’s Brady Christensen drafted in third round by the Carolina Panthers

BYU offensive tackle Brady Christensen was selected by the Carolina Panthers with the sixth pick of the third round and…

Zach Wilson at the 2021 NFL Draft
Wilson selected No. 2 overall in NFL Draft by the New York Jets

BYU’s Zach Wilson was selected by the New York Jets with the No. 2 overall pick in the 2021 NFL Draft on Thursday,…