Brett Pyne | Posted: 22 Jul 2021 | Updated: 5 Aug 2021

Romney named to 2021 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

main image
BYU receiver Gunner Romney named to 2021 Biletnikoff Award watch list

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. —  The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the prestigious Biletnikoff Award, has named BYU receiver Gunner Romney to the 2021 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the college football season's outstanding FBS pass catcher, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back).

Romney, a 6-3, 195-pound junior out of Chandler, Arizona, ranked No. 15 in nation in 2020 with a team-high 19.7 yards per catch while helping BYU to a No. 11 final ranking. He posted four games with 100 or more receiving yards last year—Navy (134), Troy (138) LA Tech (101) and Boise State (133)—while ranking No. 28 in nation with 767 receiving yards on 39 catches despite missing nearly three full games with injury. Overall, Romney boasts 83 catches for 1,306 yards and six touchdowns in 32 games played for the Cougars. 

Last year, Romney was also recognized on the watch list after a strong start to the season along with fellow BYU wideout Dax Milne, who become a 2020 Biletnikoff Award semifinalist and All-American receiver before being selected by Washington in the NFL Draft. 

The 2021 semifinalists, finalists, and award recipient will be selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted. For a list of voters, please see

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was a consensus All-America receiver at Florida State University, and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The correlation between Biletnikoff Award winners and stardom in the National Football League is nearly uniformly consistent. Past Biletnikoff Award winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Michael Crabtree, Amari Cooper, the late Terry Glenn, and Larry Fitzgerald. 

The 2021 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented the Biletnikoff Award trophy at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet & Celebration at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, March 5, 2022. The award will be presented by TQC Foundation Chairman Roger Champion, keynoter and college hall of famer and two-time Heisman Trophy winner Archie Griffin, and college and pro football hall of famer Fred Biletnikoff . 

The 2021 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List
(Other receivers will be added as their season performances dictate)

Jordan Addison, Pitt
Calvin Austin III, Memphis
David Bell, Purdue
Ronnie Bell, Michigan
Max Borghi, Washington State
Kayshon Boutte, LSU
Treylon Burks, Arkansas
Elijah Cooks, Nevada
Jacob Cowing, UTEP
Dontay Demus Jr., Maryland
Jahan Dotson, Penn State
Romeo Doubs, Nevada
Emeka Emezie, NC State
Erik Ezukanma, Texas Tech
Zay Flowers, Boston College
Zakhari Franklin, UTSA
Ty Fryfogle, Indiana
Kaylon Geiger, Texas Tech
Justin Hall, Ball State
Mike Harley, Miami
Taj Harris, Syracuse
Jaivon Heiligh, Coastal Carolina
Xavier Hutchinson, Iowa State
Johnny Johnson III, Oregon
Billy Kemp IV, Virginia
Charlie Kolar, Iowa State
Isaiah Likely, Coastal Carolina
Drake London, USC
Michael Mayer, Notre Dame
Bo Melton, Rutgers
John Metchie III, Alabama
Marvin Mims, Oklahoma
Chris Olave, Ohio State
Sam Pinckney, Georgia State
Rashee Rice, SMU
Jaquarii Roberson, Wake Forest
Reggie Roberson Jr., SMU
Jaylon Robinson, UCF
Gunner Romney, BYU
Justyn Ross, Clemson
Bradley Rozner, Rice
Khalil Shakir, Boise State
Keylon Stokes, Tulsa
Jalen Tolbert, South Alabama
Cole Turner, Nevada
Jaden Walley, Mississippi State
Tahj Washington, USC
Garrett Wilson, Ohio State
Michael Wilson, Stanford
Mike Woods, Oklahoma
Jalen Wydermyer, Texas A&M