jchristiansen | Posted: 6 Sep 2011 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Vote Heaps for Davey O'Brien

main image

FORT WORTH, Texas - The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced today that the Fan Vote for the 2011 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien) is now open. BYU fans are encouraged to vote for quarterback Jake Heaps, a Davey O'Brien Watch List honoree, as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org to vote Heaps as the top quarterback in the country.

"The O'Brien is one of the few college football awards that gives fans an opportunity to play a part in the award selection process," said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O'Brien Foundation. "We have had excellent fan participation in recent years and are excited to see them involved again with such great competition in college football this season."

The 2011 season marks the fifth time in The O'Brien's history that fans have had a say in the voting. The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process, and it is combined with the results from the O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. Fan Vote totals are cleared after each voting round.

The Fan Vote Process 

Round One: Sept. 6 - Oct. 23

Beginning Sept. 6, fans will have all 120 Football Bowl Subdivision starting quarterbacks to choose from until the voting for Semifinalists closes at noon Central Time (CT) on Oct. 23.

Round Two: Oct. 24 - Nov. 20

The Fan Vote will re-open October 24 following the announcement of the 16 Semifinalists. Fans may vote for quarterbacks on the Semifinalist List to help determine which three will advance as Finalists. Fan voting will close at noon CT on Nov. 20.

Round Three: Nov. 21 - Dec. 4

The Fan Vote will re-open for the final round of voting on Nov. 21 following the announcement of the three Finalists. Fans may select from the three Finalists to help determine who will be The O'Brien Winner. Fan voting will close at noon CT on Dec. 4.

The 2011 Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awardsairing December 8 on ESPN and will be honored at the 35th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award

Founded in 1977, the Davey O'Brien Foundation recognizes champions on and off the field through awards programs encouraging academic and career success. The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien) is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O'Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. For more information, visit  www.DaveyOBrien.org.

Recent Stories

2022 BYU football season review
BYU Football: 2022 Season Review

Playing a schedule that included a school-record 10 bowl-bound teams in its final season as a football independent, BYU…

2022 Associated Press All Bowl Team
Bywater, Rehkow named to the AP all-bowl team

BYU linebacker Ben Bywater and punter Ryan Rehkow were named to the Associated Press All-Bowl Team for their…