Kyle Chilton | Posted: 7 Mar 2015 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Haws among Wooden Award Top 15

main image

LOS ANGELES, Calif. – The Los Angeles Athletic Club announced that BYU senior guard Tyler Haws is on the 2015 National Ballot for the John R. Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s on ESPN College GameDay today. Selected by the Wooden Award National Advisory Board, the list is comprised of 15 student-athletes who are the frontrunners for college basketball’s most prestigious honor. All balloted players have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

Haws, a native of Alpine, Utah, has led the Cougars to a 23-8 record and is currently third in the country in scoring at 21.9 points per game. On Feb. 26, 2015, at Portland, Haws became BYU’s all-time leading scorer, passing the 2011 Wooden Award winner Jimmer Fredette. In addition to being the program’s all-time scoring leader, Haws is also first in BYU history in free throws made, free throw percentage, minutes played, starts, 20-point games and double-figure scoring games.

A 2015 All-West Coast Conference First Team honoree, Haws is also a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award and the Jerry West Award and was named to the Naismith Trophy Midseason Top 30.

Voting for the Wooden Award begins March 16, and voters, consisting of nearly 1,000 members of the national college basketball media, may take into consideration the opening rounds of the 2015 NCAA Tournament. Voting ends March 23. Fans may vote through the fan voting site sponsored by Wendy’s, The Wooden Award All-American Team, consisting of the nation’s top 10 players, will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament and will be the focus of a 30-minute show on ESPNU on Monday, March 30 (8 p.m. EDT), that will announce the Wooden All-American team and the five finalists for the Wooden Award. The women’s ballot will be released next week.

The 39th annual Wooden Award ceremony will honor and reveal the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners, and will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All-American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, which in 2015 will go to San Diego State Head Men’s Basketball Coach Steve Fisher. This announcement of the winners will be televised live on ESPN2 from Club Nokia in Los Angeles at 5 p.m. on Friday, April 10, as part of the first ever College Basketball Awards Show Presented by Wendy’s.

The ACC leads the conference tally with four of the 15 players, followed by the Big 12, Big Ten, Missouri Valley, SEC and WCC with two selections each, and the Pac-12 with one.  No school had two players on the ballot. Three players were chosen to the ballot who were not on the Late Season Top 20 list or Midseason Top 25: Malcolm Brogdon, who averages 13.6 points for ACC regular season champion Virginia; Rakeem Christmas of Syracuse (17.6 ppg/9.0 rpg); and Seth Tuttle of Northern Iowa (15.6 ppg, 6.6 rpg). Jahlil Okafor of Duke is No. 2 nationally in FG% (66.5).

About the John R. Wooden Award

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball.  Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Candace Parker (’07 and ’08), Kevin Durant (’09) and Maya Moore of Connecticut (’09 and ‘11). Creighton’s Doug McDermott won the 2014 Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities’ general scholarship fund in the names of the All American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award’s name.   Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament.  The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the weekend of the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.

Follow the candidates and get the latest news throughout the season by going to the Wooden Award facebook page at or twitter feed @WoodenAward.  For more information on the John R. Wooden Award, please contact the Wooden Award staff at 213-630-5231 or via email at

John R. Wooden Award Presented by Wendy's 2014-15 National Ballot

Ron Baker, Wichita State

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky

Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse

Jerian Grant, Notre Dame,

Tyler Haws, BYU

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Jahlil Okafor, Duke

Bobby Portis, Arkansas

D'Angelo Russell, Ohio State

Seth Tuttle, Northern Iowa

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga

Delon Wright, Utah