Kyle Chilton | Posted: 30 Mar 2015 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Collinsworth and Haws earn AP All-America Honorable Mention

main image

PROVO, Utah – For the fourth time this season, BYU guards Kyle Collinsworth and Tyler Haws have been named to the same honors team, this time the Associated Press All-America Honorable Mention list.

Collinsworth and Haws led BYU to a 25-10 record and a trip to the NCAA tournament for the second-straight season. They were both named to the All-West Coast Conference First Team and received all-district accolades from the United States Basketball Writers Association and the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Collinsworth has also been named to the Lute Olson All-America Team.

This is the second-straight season Haws has earned AP All-America Honorable Mention. The senior guard out of Alpine, Utah, finished his senior season third in the nation and first in the WCC in scoring at 22.2 points per game while also averaging 4.5 rebounds and 2.4 assists per game. He concludes his decorated career as BYU’s all-time scoring leader with 2,720 points.

Collinsworth, a native of Provo, Utah, proved to be one of the most versatile players in the country, setting the NCAA’s single-season triple-double record while tying the career record with six.

For the season, Collinsworth was second on the team in scoring at 13.8 points per game while leading the way in rebounding (8.7), assists (6.0) and steals (1.8) per game. He finished the 2014-15 season as the only player in the country ranked among the top 75 in rebounds, assists and steals.

2014-15 AP All-America Teams

First Team
Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin
Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
Willie Cauley Stein, Kentucky
D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State

Second Team
Delon Wright, Utah
Karl-Anthony Towns, Kentucky
Sean Tuttle, Northern Iowa
Bobby Portis, Arkansas
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Third Team
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga
Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga

Honorable Mention (in alphabetical order)
Lawrence Alexander, North Dakota State; Justin Anderson, Virginia; Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova; Ron Baker, Wichita State; Jalen Cannon, St. Francis, Brooklyn; Karl Cochran, Wofford; Kyle Collinsworth, BYU; Quinn Cook, Duke (1 first-team vote).

Kris Dunn, Providence (1); Perry Ellis, Kansas (1); Rico Gathers, Baylor; Madarious Gibbs, Texas Southern; Anthony Gill, Virginia; Kendall Gray, Delaware State; Ty Greene, S.C.-Upstate; Olivier Hanlan, Boston College (1).

Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (1); Martez Harrison, UMKC; Tyler Harvey, Eastern Washington; Corey Hawkins, UC Davis; Tyler Haws, BYU; LaDontae Henton, Providence; Darrun Hilliard, Villanova; R.J. Hunter, Georgia State.

Stanley Johnson, Arizona (1); Tyus Jones, Duke; Tyler Kalinoski, Davidson; Tim Kempton, Lehigh; David Laury, Iona; Damon Lynn, NJIT; Derrick Marks, Boise State; Jerell Martin, LSU; T.J. McConnell, Arizona.

Mikh McKinney, Sacramento State; Nic Moore, SMU; Justin Moss, Buffalo; Saah Nimley, Charleston Southern; Cameron Payne, Murray State; Chasson Randle, Stanford; Justin Sears, Yale; Kenneth “Speedy” Smith, Louisiana Tech.

Keifer Sykes, Green Bay; Marcus Thornton, William & Mary; Melo Trimble, Maryland; Fred VanVleet, Wichita State (1); Thomas Walkup, Stephen F. Austin; Jameel Warney, Stony Brook; Dez Wells, Maryland; Joseph Young, Oregon (1).