Kyle Chilton | Posted: 18 Jul 2017 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Davis and Guinn named to NABC Honors Court

main image

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) today announced that former Cougars Kyle Davis and Davin Guinn have been named to the 2016-17 NABC Honors Court. Davis was also named to the NABC Honors Court in 2015-16.

Each year the NABC Honors Court recognizes those men’s collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the past season. The NABC Honors Court recognizes the talents and gifts that these men possess off the court and the hard work they exhibit in the classroom.

In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are as follows:

  1. Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player.
  2. Cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2016-17 academic year.
  3. Students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution.
  4. Member of a NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution with a NABC member coach.

Davis played in 10 games and started six in 2016-17 before suffering a season ending knee injury. He averaged 8.8 points and 4.0 rebounds while shooting 59.0 percent from the field. Davis graduated from BYU in the spring with a degree in accounting.

Guinn played in all 34 games and started one. He averaged 2.2 points, 2.1 rebounds and added 21 steals. Guinn studied political science and graduated in the spring.

Click here to see the full list of 2016-17 NABC Honors Court members.

Recent Stories

Rudi Williams State Farm
BYU’s Rudi Williams set to participate in 2023 State Farm College Team Skills & 3X3U Championships

Rudi Williams has been selected to participate in the State Farm College Team Skills and 3X3U Championships at the…

Atiki Ally Atiki blocks the Logan Johnson's shot during the WCC semifinal.

The following notes and quotes are from BYU’s 76-69 loss to Saint Mary’s in the semifinals of the 2023 University…