Kyle Chilton | Posted: 31 Jan 2020 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Childs, Haws and Toolson selected as Senior CLASS Award nominees

main image
Photos of Jake Toolson, TJ Haws and Yoeli Childs on the left side with text that says 2020 Senior CLASS Award nominees on the right side.
Photo collage left to right of TJ Haws shooting a basketball, Yoeli Childs dunking a ball and Jake Toolson shooting.

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – BYU’s Yoeli Childs, TJ Haws and Jake Toolson are among the 60 NCAA men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court and were selected as candidates today for the 2019-20 Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Among the 60 candidates, all are in excellent academic standing with 23 having grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher. Twelve athletes are returning to the court this season after receiving All-America honors, and 46 of the candidates earned all-conference honors for their performances a year ago. Each of the candidates also volunteers his or her time with charitable organizations and causes while upholding a reputation for positive character on campus and in the community.

Childs, Haws and Toolson are enjoying strong senior seasons on the court, having led the Cougars to a 16-7 overall record and a 5-3 mark in West Coast Conference play. The seniors are BYU’s three leading scorers while Childs leads the Cougars in rebounding and Haws and Toolson are one and two in assists. All three have been involved in a variety of community service endeavors throughout their college careers. Childs and Haws are set to complete their undergraduate degrees in the spring while Toolson is working towards a Master’s in Public Administration.

The men’s and women’s candidates will be narrowed to two fields of 10 finalists in February, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four C’s of community, classroom, character and competition. 

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2020 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four® this spring. For more information on each of the candidates, visit

Udoka Azubuike University of Kansas 
Keith Braxton Saint Francis University
Desure Buie Hofstra University
Yoeli Childs BYU
Jordan Cohen Lehigh 
Kameron Edwards Pepperdine 
James Foye Dartmouth College 
Harald Frey Montana State University 
Byron Frohnen UTSA 
Tommy Funk Army West Point 
TJ Haws BYU 
Markus Howard Marquette University 
Michael Jacobson Iowa State University 
Justin Kier George Mason University
Nathan Knight William & Mary 
Maik Kotsar University of South Carolina 
Skylar Mays LSU 
Anfernee McLemore Auburn University 
Sam Merrill Utah State
Emmanuel Nzekwesi Oral Roberts University 
Myles Powell Seton Hall University 
Trevon Scott University of Cincinnati 
Nate Sestina University of Kentucky
Ethan Stair Mercer 
Lamar Stevens Penn State
Jake Toolson BYU
Breein Tyree Ole Miss 
DJ Vasiljevic Miami
Charles Williams Howard University
Cassius Winston Michigan State University 
Laura Bagwell-Katalinich Cornell University 
Chelsea Brackmann Bradley
Camryn Buhr Lehigh University 
Kelly Campbell DePaul
Kaila Charles University of Maryland 
Rachael Childress UAB
Lauren Cox Baylor 
Crystal Dangerfield UConn 
Ciara Duffy University of South Dakota 
Nneka Ezeigbo Robert Morris University
Alana Gilmer Marist College
Bailey Greenberg Drexel University
Rebekah Hand Marist College
Ellie Harmeyer Belmont
Ruthy Hebard Oregon
Hannah Hedstrom Lehigh University
Taylor Herd Quinnipiac University
Sabrina Ionescu Oregon 
Stella Johnson Rider University 
Stephanie Karcz Loyola University Maryland
Ayana Mitchell LSU
Beatrice Mompremier University of Miami 
Erica Ogwumike Rice
Mikayla Pivec Oregon State 
Shadeen Samuels Seton Hall University
Jayla Scaife Dayton
Chante Stonewall DePaul 
Sug Sutton University of Texas
Peyton Williams Kansas State
Brenna Wise Indiana University 

Erik Miner
Phone: (913) 563-5412

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Premier Sports Management manages the award. 

*NCAA and Final Four are trademarks owned or licensed by the National Collegiate Athletic Association.