Anonymous | Posted: 28 Oct 2000 | Updated: 28 Oct 2000

BYU Cross Country Teams Repeat as Conference Champions

FORT COLLINS, Colo. (Oct. 28, 2000) Sophomore standout Lindsey Thomsen won the individual title in the women's 6K race, and last season's individual champion John Hedengren finished in second place in the men's 8K event as the BYU men's and women's cross country teams successfully defended their Mountain West Conference titles.

The BYU women's team nearly recorded a perfect score, finishing with 16 points to put them well ahead of the rest of the field. Second-place Colorado State finished with 55 points. The BYU men scored 30 points to outdistancethe Rams in their race as well, who finished with 56 points.

Thomsen was the first Cougar finisher for the third time this season, crossing the line in 20:49. Sophomore Sarah Ellett, the next runner in, finished 12 seconds back in 21:01. UNLV's Katie Barto was the lone runner break up the Cougar pack, finishing just behind Tara Northcutt (21:12) and Sharolyn Shields-Thayer (21:14). Northcutt recorded a third-place finish in just her second race back after nursing a sore knee for the first part of the season. Redshirt freshman Katie Martin finished in sixth place to round out the near perfect score for BYU.

In the men's race, CSU's Bryan Berryhill won the 8K race in a time of 24:52, but BYU placed four runners in the top ten to secure the win. Junior John Hedengren (25:02) finished in second place, and freshman Josh Rohatinsky (25:18) crossed the line in fourth. Junior Dula Parkinson (25:31) and freshman Golden Harper (25:39) came in sixth and seventh, respectively, and sophomore Andy Carman (25:48) just missed a top-ten finish, coming in 11th.

In addition to the two victories, the Cougars took home several other conference awards. Thomsen was named Women's Athlete of the Year, and Martin and Rohatinsky took home Freshman of the Year honors. With First-team All Conference honors going to the top seven finishers on both sides, and Second-team honors to the eighth through 14th places, the BYU teams placed a total of nine runners on the first team and four runners on the second team.

Women's 6,000 meters

Team Results

1. Brigham Young 16

2. Colorado State 55

3. Air Force 112

4. Utah 118

5. San Diego State 166

6. UNLV 166

7. New Mexico 173

8/ Wyoming 177

BYU Finishers

1. Lindsey Thomsen 20:49.7

2. Sarah Ellett 21:01.7

3. Tara Northcutt 21:12.2

4. Sharolyn Shields-Thayer 21:14.7

6. Katie Martin 21:22.3

9. Nan Evans 21:38.9

13. Amy Bair 22:02.2

14. Sherida Rogers 22:10.6

32. Tara Haynes 23:13.0

Men's 8,000 meters

Team Results

1. Brigham Young 30

2. Colorado State 56

3. Air Force 74

4. Utah 106

5. Wyoming 126

6. New Mexico 153

BYU Finishers

2. John Hedengren 25:04.1

4. Josh Rohatinsky 25:18.4

6. Dula Parkinson 25:31.8

7. Golden Harper 25:39.5

11. Andy Carman 25:48.1

18. Ben Wynn 25:57.4

19. Lewis Jones 25:57.8

26. Ammon Larsen 26:31.7

27. Nate Harrison 26:32.0

Recent Stories

Five Men Win USTFCCCA All-Academic Awards
Five Cougars Receive USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors

BYU men’s cross country had five athletes receive 2022 NCAA Division I All-Academic honors, the U.S. Track & Field…

WCC Academic First Team
Six Cougars Named to WCC All-Academic First Team

SAN MATEO, Calif. – BYU men’s cross country continues to rack up awards for the 2022 season as six Cougars were named…