Anonymous | Posted: 10 Sep 2005 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Cross Country Cougars Look Good In Autumn

main image

PROVO -- The men's and women's teams both came out strong on Saturday at Cascade Golf Course in Orem, where they swept the competition in the Autumn Classic.

The women where led by a host of runners, including newcomer Chelsea Smith-McKell, a transfer from BYU-Hawaii, who won the race.

"It was a beautiful course," Smith-McKell said. "I love running on grass, it makes me feel fast."

Rounding out the top five for the women were Anne Heiner (4), true freshman Jocelyn Gardner (5), recently returned LDS missionary Breanne Sandberg (7) and true freshman Amy Fowler (8).

On the men's side, head coach Ed Eyestone told Dustin Bybee and Chandler Goodwin they would need to step up since the usual team leader, Josh Rohatinsky, sat out. Bybee and Goodwin did just that, coming in first and second, respectively.

"I knew I wanted to go out and stick with the lead pack," Bybee said. "It felt really smooth through the first two miles. I knew at some point there would be someone who would break off, and I was just hoping I would have the most energy."

The women picked up the win with 25 points, followed by Weber St. (33), University of Utah (90) and Utah Valley State (97). The men won the meet with 23 points. University of Minnesota came in second with 45 points and Utah Valley State scored 74 points for third place.

A trip to Hawaii is up next for the women. They will be running in the Big Wave Invitational on Saturday Sept. 17.

The men have next weekend off before they hit the road to Minnesota for the Griak Invitational on Sept. 24. Eyestone said the Griak will provide a great opportunity to see how they match up against some of the nation's top teams.

In addition to the men's and women's meets, the Autumn Classic hosted over 40 high schools, making it one of the state's largest high school cross country meets.


Chelsea Smith-McKell 1st 18:13.6

Anne Heiner 4th 18:35.7

Jocelyn Gardner 5th 18:36.1

Breanne Sandberg 7th 18:50.7

Amy Fowler 8th 18:51.0


Dustin Bybee 1st 20:14.5

Chandler Goodwin 2nd 20:21.5

Josh McAdams 5th 20:37.5

Tyrel Jensen 7th 20:48.3

Nick McCombs 8th 20:49.8