AaronS | Posted: 16 Mar 2013 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

No. 39 Cougars win five singles matches to beat No. 60 New Mexico

main image
PROVO, Utah -- The No. 39 BYU men's tennis team beat its sixth ranked opponent this year in No. 60 New Mexico 5-2 on Saturday at the BYU Indoor Tennis Courts.
“New Mexico has a great team, a great tradition and is well coached,” BYU head coach Brad Pearce said. “If we didn’t come out and fight [after doubles] like we did, we would have ended today with a loss. I’m glad the guys responded well.”
BYU (13-4) now owns a 33-20 all-time advantage over New Mexico (8-8).
In doubles, Patrick Kawka and Francis Sargeant won their first five games en route to an 8-4 victory over Conor Berg and Andrew Van Der Vyver on Court 1. The Lobos took the other two matches to secure the doubles point.
BYU responded with its first point as Kawka defeated Berg in straight sets 6-3, 6-3.
Senior Spencer Smith won his first set quickly but then dropped the next two against Samir Iftikhar 2-6, 6-1, 6-2 on Court 2 to give New Mexico the one-point lead.
On Court 4, sophomore Keaton Cullimore took the first set and lost the second. He then lost the first two games in the third set but came from behind to win four straight games to earn a personal victory and to tie the overall match at two points each.
Sargeant also found himself down a set to Jadon Phillips on Court 3 before earning a 4-6, 6-2, 6-3 win.
Freshman Andrey Goryachkov clinched a BYU victory as he topped Van Der Vyver 7-6(5), 6-0 on Court 5. John Pearce rounded out the day’s match with a 7-6(0), 7-5 win.
The Cougars host San Francisco Friday at noon MDT at the Outdoor Tennis Courts.
1. Kawka/Sargeant (BYU) def. Berg/Van der Vyver (UNM) 8-4
2. Phillips/Du Toit (UNM) def. Fillmore/Smith (BYU) 8-5
3. Hignett/Hegelund (UNM) def. Cullimore/Pearce (BYU) 8-6
Order of finish: 1, 2, 3
1. Patrick Kawka (BYU) def. Conor Berg (UNM) 6-3, 6-3
2. Samir Iftikhar (UNM) def. Spencer Smith (BYU) 2-6, 6-1, 6-2
3. Francis Sargeant (BYU) def. Jadon Phillips (UNM) 3-6, 6-2, 6-3
4. Keaton Cullimore (BYU) def. Riaan Du Toit (UNM) 6-2, 3-6, 6-4
5. Andrey Goryachkov (BYU) def. James Hignett (UNM) 7-6(5), 6-0
6. John Pearce (BYU) def. Andrew Van Der Vyver 7-6(0), 7-5
Order of finish: 1, 2, 4, 3, 5, 6