wweekes | Posted: 2 May 2012 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Batrakov, Smith and Kawka Receive All-WCC Honors

main image

SAN BRUNO, Calif. – The West Coast Conference has announced senior Georgy Batrakov and junior Spencer Smith have been named to the 2012 All-WCC First and Second Team Singles, respectively. The league also announced that Batrakov and sophomore Patrick Kawka were named to the All-WCC Second Team Doubles.

The 2012 All-WCC First Team was selected by the conference coaches, based on overall season performance. All-WCC Second Team members were chosen based on the same criteria; plus performance at the recent WCC Championships.

Batrakov was named to the All-WCC First Team singles after leading the Cougars at the No. 1 singles position. The Russian netter compiled a 22-11 overall record, including a win over then-No. 20 Finn Tearney of Pepperdine. The co-captain was ranked No. 61 in the country, as of April 24.

Smith garnered All-WCC Second Team Singles honors after stringing together a team-best 29-9 overall record. Smith saw action at No. 1, No. 2 and No. 3 singles during the year.

Earning All-WCC Second Team Doubles accolades, Batrakov and Kawka led the Cougars with a team-best 26-9 overall record while going 18-6 in dual play. While playing at the No. 1 position for BYU throughout the season, the pair upset then-No. 6 Alex Llompart and Finn Tearney of Pepperdine, 8-3. As of April 24, Batrakov and Kawka were ranked No. 86 in doubles.

Kawka also received All-WCC Honorable Mention for singles. Smith and freshman Francis Sargeant received All-WCC Honorable Mention for doubles. 


2012 WCC Men's Tennis Postseason Award Winners

  • Player of the Year: Sebastian Fanselow, Pepperdine
  • Freshman of the Year: Ilya Osintsev, Santa Clara
  • Co-Coach of the Year: Adam Steinberng, Pepperdine & Derek Mills, Santa Clara


All-WCC Men's First Team Singles  
Finn Tearney Pepperdine
Georgy Batrakov BYU
Kyle Dandan Santa Clara
Nikola Bubnic San Diego
Patrick Pohlmann San Diego
Sebastian Fanselow Pepperdine
All-WCC Men's Second Team Singles  
Alex Llompart Pepperdine
Clarke Spinosa San Diego
John Lamble Santa Clara
Maxime Olivan Saint Mary's
Spencer Smith BYU
Thai Tu San Francisco

Honorable Mention: Alvaro Nazal (GON); Geoff Hernandez (POR); Ilya Osintsev (SCU); Michael Hu Kwo (POR); Nicholas Bjerke (LMU); Patrick Kawka (BYU); Thibaut Visy (USD); Tom Pham (SCU)


All-WCC Men's First Team Doubles  
Alex Llompart/Finn Tearney Pepperdine
Jenson Turner/Sebastian Fanselow Pepperdine
Nikola Bubnic/Thibaut Visy San Diego
All-WCC Men's Second Team Doubles  
Georgy Batrakov/Patrick Kawka BYU
Ilya Osintsey/John Lamble Santa Clara
Nicholas Bjerke/Sebastian Bustamante Loyola Marymount

Honorable Mention: Alex Ferrero/Michael Hu Kwo (POR); Francis Sargeant/Spencer Smith (BYU); Hugh Clarke/David Sofaer (PEP); Kyle Dandan/Tom Pham (SCU); Scott Sullivan/Zhia Hwa Chong (GON)