Anonymous | Posted: 31 Jul 2012 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Cougars lead nation with 16 All-Academic Track & Field team members

main image

NEW ORLEANS -- Sixteen cougars were named to the men’s 2012 Division I All-Academic Track & Field team, the most by any school in the country.

The All-Academic team, which was announced by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA), is made up of student-athletes who have proven their academic and athletic prowess.

To qualify for the All-Academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.25. In addition, each student-athlete must have met either of the following athletic standards:

  • Finished the regular season ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or ranked in the national top 48 in a relay event (Indoor)
  • Participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships
Division I All-Academic Honorees
      Name Class
Alden Bahr Senior
Blaine Baker Senior
Kyle Baker Junior
Colby Barber Senior
Miles Batty Senior
Braydon Bringhurst Freshman
Curtis Carr Junior
Jacob Cosby Junior
Steve Flint Sophomore
Dakoda John Sophomore
Keith Keller Sophomore
Cade Lindahl Junior
Rex Shields Junior
Ryan Waite Junior
Shaquille Walker Freshman
Jared Ward Sophomore

In addition to the individual student-athlete honors, the BYU men’s track and field team was one of 85 teams to receive All-Academic team honors from the USTFCCCA. The Cougars also finished the 2011-12 season ranked No. 7 in the final Division I Program of the Year Standings.

Recent Stories

Josh Taylor takes baton from Landon Maxfield during 4x400m relay
Cougars lock up four more entries for nationals

No. 11 BYU men’s track and field accrued four additional entries for NCAA Nationals to finalize a total of eight…

Brandon Garnica
Four BYU men punch tickets to nationals on day one at NCAA West Preliminary

No. 11 BYU men’s track and field completed day one at the NCAA West Preliminaries, qualifying four for NCAA Nationals…