Royce Hinton | Posted: 12 Jun 2015 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Five Cougars named MPSF Scholar-Athletes

main image

PROVO, Utah—Five Cougars were named Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Academic Scholar-Athletes, the conference recently announced.

Senior Jaylen Reyes; juniors Michael Hatch and Robbie Sutton; and sophomores Joseph Grosh and Jake Langlois received the honors based on their grade point averages and athletic contributions during the 2015 season.

Fifty-six volleyball players were named MPSF All-Academic Scholar-Athletes this year. BYU’s five honorees was tied for fourth-most in the league with Cal Baptist, behind Stanford with 11, UC Irvine with eight, and UC San Diego with six.

To receive the award, athletes must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher, be at least a sophomore academically, complete one full academic year prior to the season and compete in at least 50 percent of his team’s competitions.

This is the third-consecutive honor for Reyes, the second for both Hatch and Sutton and the first for both Grosh and Langlois.

For a complete list of MPSF Scholar-Athletes, read the official MPSF release.

BYU's 2015 MPSF All-Academic Scholar-Athletes

Name GPA Class Position Hometown
Joseph Grosh 3.45 Sophomore Middle blocker Danville, Calif.
Michael Hatch 3.68 Junior Middle blocker Agoura Hills, Calif.
Jake Langlois 3.29 Sophomore Outside hitter San Jose, Calif.
Jaylen Reyes 3.05 Senior Libero Honolulu, Hawai'i
Robbie Sutton 3.30 Junior Setter San Diego, Calif.

Recent Stories

Miki Jauhiainen academic all america first team award
Miki Jauhiainen named to COSIDA Academic All-America first team

BYU graduate middle blocker Miki Jauhiainen was named to the 2021 CoSIDA Academic All-America Division I Men’s At-Large…

"Going for Gold" olypmics image
Three former Cougars headed to Tokyo Olympics with USA Volleyball

Three former Cougars have been named to USA Volleyball rosters for the upcoming 2020 Tokyo Olympic games. Taylor Sander…

Players hold up MPSF Championship trophy
2021 Season Review

BYU men’s volleyball finished the 2021 season with a 20-4 record and a No. 2 national ranking. The team won its eighth…

Miki Jauhiainen cheers
Three Cougars earn MPSF all-academic honors

MPSF Executive Director Al Beaird has announced the MPSF All-Academic Team for the 2021 men’s volleyball season, and…