Karina Amos | Posted: 28 Apr 2021 | Updated: 22 May 2021

Shawn Olmstead repeats as MPSF Coach of the Year

main image
Coach Olmstead 2021 coach of the year graphic

SEATTLE, Wash. — In his sixth season as BYU men's volleyball head coach, Shawn Olmstead has been named the MPSF Coach of the Year for the fourth time (2016, 2018, 2020, 2021).

Olmstead coached the 2021 team to a 19-3 season record, 17-3 regular season record and an MPSF championship. The Cougars are entering the NCAA Tournament as the No. 2 seed nationally. Olmstead’s 124-32 (.795) record is the highest of any active men's volleyball coach in the NCAA Division I-II.

The Cougars lead the MPSF in four categories: hitting percentage (.348), opponent hitting percentage (.225), blocks per set (.278) and service aces (1.76). Nationally, BYU ranks in the top three of multiple categories including hitting percentage (second, .348), blocks per set (second, 2.78) and aces per set (third, 1.76).

This award marks BYU’s eighth all-time Coach of the Year recognition. Olmstead — 2021, 2020, 2018, 2016; Chris McGown — 2013; Tom Peterson — 2003; Carl McGown — 2001 & 1999).

Olmstead and the Cougars will wrap up the 2021 season at the NCAA Tournament May 6-8 in Columbus, Ohio.