bbivings | Posted: 30 Sep 2013 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Cougars compete in blue and white meet

main image

PROVO, Utah – Victory went to the White Team in the annual BYU blue and white swim and dive scrimmage on Saturday at Richards Building pool.

“They had great team camaraderie the entire week and treated this blue and white meet very seriously which is a lot of fun to watch and be a part of,” head coach John Brooks said. “We performed way better than last week and our team is building off of success.”

After 25 different events, the White Team finished with a total of 722 points to the Blue’s total of 708. The events included separate men’s and women’s events as well as mixed medley relays and distance. Individual times were not counted, only points were up for grabs in the competition.

Swimmers Rainer Ng, Chad Sorensen, McKay King and Valerie McMullan were the top performers for the White Team. Edward Young was the top-scoring diver for the White Team who helped secure the win.

Going strong for the Blue Team was Lucas Aquino, Jake Taylor, Kimberly Doroghian and Alexandra Dodds who each performed well in their events. Across the platform, Raleigh Williams Taylor put in work off the diving board to earn points for the Blue Team.

 “I was actually surprised that some of the dives went as well as they did this early in the season,” diving coach Keith Russell said. “I should expect it, but I guess I wasn’t, so I was happily surprised.”

The Cougars competed in different exercises throughout the week to earn points for their teams before heading into competition on Saturday. The White Team stayed ahead in each exercise, giving themselves an 11-point cushion before the meet. Going into Saturday morning, the White Team led 220 points to 209.

The Cougars have two weeks of practice before heading into their first official meet of the season. They will compete at the Mesa State Invite in Grand Junction, Colo. on Friday, Oct. 11, beginning at 6 p.m. Day two of the event will begin 9 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 12.

Recent Stories

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…

NICs day three
CSCAA National Invitational Championship comes to a close for BYU swim

BYU swim wrapped up its postseason CSCAA National Invitational Championship events Saturday evening at the Elkhart…