STew | Posted: 25 Jul 2012 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

15 named to Division I All-Academic Track & Field Team

main image

NEW ORLEANS -- In addition to naming this year’s DI Scholar Women of the Year, the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the Division I All-Academic Track & Field team. BYU tied Nebraska for the most student athletes named to the team with 15 each.

Among the women named to the All-Academic team from BYU and Nebraska, a total of 676 student athletes represented 171 schools throughout the country as this years honorees. In order to qualify for this honor, the student athlete must have maintained certain academic and athletic standards:

To earn Scholar Athlete of the Year honors, All-Academic status is required, and the athlete must place the highest in individual events during the latest NCAA Championships. Athletes who win multiple titles are ranked higher if there is a tie. This year’s Scholar Athletes of the Year are California’s Debroah Maier, Arizona’s Brigetta Barrett, Dartmouth’s Abbey D’Agostino, and Oklahoma’s Brittany Borman.

Recent Stories

Kalani and Jay Hill Presser
Jay Hill and Kalani Sitake Media Availability

BYU head coach Kalani Sitake introduced new associate head coach and defensive coordinator Jay Hill in a media…

Zach Fuchs serving
Meet Zach Fuchs

Sophomore Zach Fuchs is looking forward to another season with his teammates, especially after last year was cut short…

Kelly Poppinga returns to BYU
Kelly Poppinga returns to BYU as special teams coordinator and defensive assistant coach

BYU head coach Kalani Sitake today announced the addition of former BYU linebacker and assistant coach Kelly Poppinga…