43 Named MPSF All-Academic


WOODLAND, Calif. – In their first season in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, 22 men’s track and field athletes and 21 women’s track and field athletes were named MPSF All-Academic Scholar-Athletes.

The combined 43 athletes honored were the most of any MPSF school. The men’s team had four more scholar-athletes than Stanford, which finished second with 18 honorees. On the women’s side, Patrick Shane’s squad finished second overall behind Stanford, which had 22 selections.

Senior All-American Miles Batty led the way on the men’s side with a 3.93 GPA. Batty is a double major in neuroscience and exercise science.

The top GPA on the women’s team came from sophomore Elizabeth Portanova, who currently holds a 4.00. National champion Nachelle Mackie also made the list with a 3.98 GPA in elementary education.

In order to be nominated for the academic award, the student-athletes had to meet the following criteria:

  • 3.00 or better cumulative grade point average
  • Student-athlete must be at least a sophomore academically
  • Student-athlete must have completed one full academic year at the institution prior to the season for which the award is being received
  • Student-athlete must have competed in 50 percent or more of the institution’s competition in the student-athlete’s respective sport

Men's All-Academic Scholar-Athletes

Miles BattySenior
Ryan JonesJunior
Steve FlintSophomore
Colby BarberSenior
Braydon BringhurstSophomore
Alden BahrSenior
Joseph StullSophomore
Bryson StruppSophomore
Cade LindahlJunior
Isaac RobisonSophomore
Dakoda JohnSophomore
Tylor ThatcherSophomore
James GhormleySenior
Buddy CranfordSophomore
Ryan WaiteJunior
Rex ShieldsJunior
Tyler BrownJunior
Jared WardSophomore
Fanfan CharlesJunior
Jason HindsJunior
Chase DaltonSophomore
Steven HartSenior

Women's All-Academic Scholar-Athletes

Elizabeth PortanovaSophomore
Nachelle MackieJunior
Diane StewartSenior
Sarah EdwardsSenior
Diana BlauerSenior
Bethanie KrumanSophomore
Cecily BoyceRedshirt Freshman
Christen GuentherSenior
Candace EddyJunior
Katie PalmerSenior
Elizabeth WilsonSophomore
Arlene GowarSophomore
Diane McAllister PerrySenior
Michaelanne LaurentJunior
Andrea NelsonSophomore
Maren HansonSophomore
Erica ShieldsSenior
Makenna SmithSophomore
Martha ShephardSophomore
Lacey BleazardSenior
Aubrey HaleSophomore