Brett Pyne | Posted: 21 Jul 2021 | Updated: 4 Aug 2021

Allgeier named Doak Walker Award preseason candidate

main image
Tyler Allgeier named to 2021 Doak Walker Watch List

DALLAS — The PwC SMU Athletic Forum today released the preseason candidates for the 2021 Doak Walker Award, naming BYU running back Tyler Allgeier among the contenders for the annual honor presented to the nation's top running back.  

Allgeier, a sophomore in eligibility after last year's Covid season, burst onto the national scene in 2020 in his first year as a starter at running back for BYU, rushing for 1,130 yards to rank No. 8 in the nation and No. 1 among players with 150 attempts or less. Allgeier received 2020 Phil Steele All-America honorable mention after helping BYU go 11-1 and finish ranked No. 11 last season. The 5-11, 220-pound back ranked No. 3 nationally for the most runs of 30 or more yards while averaging 7.53 yards per carry, which was No. 7 in the country and tops among all sophomores.

A native of Fontana, California, Allgeier scored 13 touchdowns, including an 86-yard gallop at Boise State, to achieve the eighth-best single-season touchdown total in BYU history and rank No. 10 in the nation for rushing scores last year. He added 14 receptions for 174 yards as a receiver, averaging 12.4 yards per catch, while his 118.5 all-purpose yards per game was tops for BYU in 2020.

Former BYU running back Luke Staley won the Doak Walker Award in 2001 with 1,582 rushing yards and 28 total touchdowns. The award is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker.

In November, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name 10 semifinalists for the 2021 award. The Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will later narrow the candidate field down to three finalists before casting a second vote in December to determine the 2021 winner. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2021 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit and @NCFAA on Twitter to learn more about the association.

Allgeier was also named on Wednesday to the PFF Preseason Doak Walker Award Watch List, receiving honorable mention as one of just 19 running backs recognized as favorites to be the nation's top back in 2021.

Earlier this week, the Maxwell Football Club named Allgeier to the watch list for the 85th Maxwell Award presented annually to the most outstanding player in college football.