Brett Pyne | Posted: 4 Aug 2021 | Updated: 11 Aug 2021

CFPA names Tyler Allgeier to 2021 National Performer of the Year Watch List

main image
BYU's Tyler Allegeier named to CFPA Watch List

CHARLESTON, S.C. — College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) announced Wednesday its 2021 preseason watch list for the CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, naming BYU running back Tyler Allgeier among 42 players to earn a spot on the list. 

A sophomore in eligibility after last year's Covid season, Allgeier burst onto the national scene in 2020 in his first year as a starter at running back for BYU, rushing for 1,130 yards to rank No. 8 in the nation and No. 1 among players with 150 attempts or less. Allgeier received 2020 Phil Steele All-America honorable mention after helping BYU go 11-1 and finish ranked No. 11 last season. The 5-11, 220-pound back ranked No. 3 nationally for the most runs of 30 or more yards while averaging 7.53 yards per carry, which was No. 7 in the country and tops among all sophomores.

A native of Fontana, California, Allgeier scored 13 touchdowns, including an 86-yard gallop at Boise State, to achieve the eighth-best single-season touchdown total in BYU history and rank No. 10 in the nation for rushing scores last year. He added 14 receptions for 174 yards as a receiver, averaging 12.4 yards per catch, while his 118.5 all-purpose yards per game was tops for BYU in 2020.

Allgeier was previously named in July to the watch list for the 85th Maxwell Award presented annually to the most outstanding player in college football as well as the Doak Walker Watch List for the nation's top running back and the Paul Hornung Award Watch List given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. 

The 2021 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy is a 22-inch K-9 optic crystal tower with eight-inch crystal football on top. All FBS players are eligible for the award. The 2021 CFPA National Performer of the Year will be announced January 12, 2022.

2021 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy Watch List:
Camerun Peoples (RB), App State 
Jayden Daniels (QB), Arizona State 
Rachaad White (RB), Arizona State 
Layne Hatcher (QB), Arkansas State 
Bo Nix (QB), Auburn 
Kevin Marks, Jr. (RB), Buffalo 
Tyler Allgeier (RB), BYU 
Desmond Ridder (QB), Cincinnati 
D.J. Uiagalelei (QB), Clemson
Grayson McCall (QB), Coastal Carolina
Jarek Broussard (RB), Colorado
McKenzie Milton (QB), Florida State
JT Daniels (QB), Georgia
Tyler Goodson (RB), Iowa
Breece Hall (RB), Iowa State
Brock Purdy (QB), Iowa State
Dustin Crum (QB), Kent State
Chris Rodriguez, Jr. (RB), Kentucky
Malik Willis (QB), Liberty
Levi Lewis (QB), Louisiana
Malik Cunningham (QB), Louisville
Grant Wells (QB), Marshall
D’Eriq King (QB), Miami
Mohamed Ibrahim (RB), Minnesota
Carson Strong (QB), Nevada
Sam Howell (QB), North Carolina
Kyren Williams (RB), Notre Dame
Spencer Rattler (QB), Oklahoma
Matt Corral (QB), Ole Miss
Sean Clifford (QB), Penn State
Nick Starkel (QB), San Jose State
Ulysses Bentley IV (RB), SMU
Kevin Harris (RB), South Carolina
Max Duggan (QB), TCU
Isaiah Spiller (RB), Texas A&M 
Dillon Gabriel (QB), UCF 
Dorian Thompson-Robinson (QB)
UCLA Kedon Slovis (QB), USC 
Charlie Brewer (QB), Utah 
Sincere McCormick (RB), UTSA 
Kaleb Eleby (QB), Western Michigan
Leddie Brown (RB), West Virginia