Kyle Chilton | Posted: 10 Mar 2015 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Haws and Collinsworth named USBWA All-District

main image

PROVO, Utah – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced its 2014-15 Men’s All-District Teams today and BYU guards Kyle Collinsworth and Tyler Haws were named to the All-District VIII Team. District VIII includes all NCAA Division I institutions from Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming.

This marks the third-straight season Haws has received USBWA All-District honors and the first for Collinsworth. Both were also All-West Coast Conference First Team honorees and have led BYU to a 25-8 record, a current eight-game winning streak and a trip to the WCC Championship game tonight against No. 7/7 Gonzaga.

Haws is on the ballot for the Wooden Award and is a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award and the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award. He is currently third in the nation and first in the WCC in scoring at 22.1 points per game and earlier this season passed Jimmer Fredette as BYU’s all-time leading scorer. The Alpine, Utah, native has posted season highs of 35 points, nine rebounds and six assists and has scored 20-plus points 23 times.

Collinsworth is one of the most versatile players in the country with per-game averages of 13.5 points, 8.7 rebounds, 5.9 assists and 1.9 steals. He is the only player in the country ranked in the top 100 in rebounds (43rd), assists (15th) and steals (56th). The Provo, Utah, native set the NCAA single-season triple-double record earlier this season with his fifth on Feb. 7 at Loyola Marymount. Collinsworth added to the season record and tied the career record with his sixth against Portland in the semifinals of the WCC Championships.

The USBWA has selected All-District Teams each year since the 1956-57 season, its founding year. BYU has been represented on USBWA All-District Teams in all but one season since 2003-04. Visit for the complete All-District Teams.

District VIII Player of the Year

Delon Wright, Utah

District VIII Coach of the Year

Leon Rice, Boise State 

All-District VIII Team (10)

J.J. Avila, Colorado State
Daniel Bejarano, Colorado State
Askia Booker, Colorado
Kyle Collinsworth, BYU
Jordan Gregory, Montana
Tyler Haws, BYU
Derrick Marks, Boise State
Larry Nance Jr., Wyoming
Christian Wood, UNLV
Delon Wright, Utah

BYU’s USBWA All-District Honorees

Tyler Haws

Brandon Davies
Tyler Haws

Noah Hartsock

Jimmer Fredette (POY)
Jackson Emery
Dave Rose (COY)

Jimmer Fredette (POY)
Jackson Emery

Lee Cummard
Jimmer Fredette

Lee Cummard
Trent Plaisted

Keena Young

Trent Plaisted
Dave Rose (COY)

Rafael Araujo