Kyle Chilton | Posted: 8 Mar 2016 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Collinsworth repeats as USBWA All-District VIII honoree

main image

ST. LOUIS – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced today that BYU senior guard Kyle Collinsworth has been named to the USBWA All-District VIII Team for the second-straight season. District VIII includes all NCAA Division I institutions from Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming.

Collinsworth – the 2016 West Coast Conference Player of the Year – has led BYU to a 23-10 record that included two wins over top-25 teams, a 13-5 record in league play and a trip to the semifinals of the WCC Championships.

The Provo, Utah, native has posted averages of 15.2 points, 8.4 rebounds, 7.4 assists and 2.0 steals this season to lead the Cougars. Collinsworth is ranked fifth in the country in assists, 35th in steals and 88th in rebounding, making him one of only two players in the country – along with LSU’s Ben Simmons – ranked in the top 100 in all three categories. His 7.4 assists per game and 244 total assists are BYU single season records.

Collinsworth has posted the second most triple-doubles in a season in NCAA history with five this season, one behind the record-setting six he tallied in 2014-15. He also owns the career record with 11 triple-doubles – five more than any other player in NCAA history.

BYU’s all-time career leader in assists, total rebounds and offensive rebounds, Collinsworth is also second all-time in career steals and games started and third in double-doubles.

The USBWA has selected All-District Teams each year since the 1956-57 season, its founding year. BYU has been represented on USBWA All-District Teams in all but one season since 2003-04. Visit for the complete All-District Teams.

District VIII Player of the Year
Jakob Poeltl, Utah

District VIII Coach of the Year
Larry Krystkowiak, Utah

All-District VIII Team (10)
Josh Adams, Wyoming
Martin Breunig, Montana
Elijah Brown, New Mexico
Kyle Collinsworth, BYU
Jordan Loveridge, Utah
Jakob Poeltl, Utah
Josh Scott, Colorado
Pascal Siakam, New Mexico State
Ethan Telfair, Idaho State
James Webb III, Boise State

BYU’s USBWA All-District Honorees

Kyle Collinsworth

Kyle Collinsworth
Tyler Haws

Tyler Haws

Brandon Davies
Tyler Haws

Noah Hartsock

Jimmer Fredette (POY)
Jackson Emery
Dave Rose (COY)

Jimmer Fredette (POY)
Jackson Emery

Lee Cummard
Jimmer Fredette

Lee Cummard
Trent Plaisted

Keena Young

Trent Plaisted
Dave Rose (COY)

Rafael Araujo