The Davey O'Brien Award

In 1981, the Davey O’Brien Educational and Charitable Trust of Fort Worth, Texas, named Jim McMahon the first recipient of the annual Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award — honoring the nation’s best quarterback. BYU quarterbacks have won the Davey O’Brien Award four times — more than any other school.

In addition to winners McMahon (1981), Steve Young (1983) and Ty Detmer (1990 & ’91), Robbie Bosco finished runner-up in 1984 and Steve Sarkisian finished third in 1996. Others who have won the award include: Todd Blackledge (1982), Doug Flutie (1984), Chuck Long (1985), Vinny Testaverde (1986), Dan McPherson (1987), Troy Aikman (1988), Andre Ware (1989), Gino Torretta (1992), Charlie Ward (1993), Kerry Collins (1994), Danny Wuerffel (1995 & ’96), Peyton Manning (1997), Michael Bishop (1998), Joe Hamilton (1999), Chris Weinke (2000) and Eric Crouch (2001).

BYU and the Davey O'Brien Award

Year Player Place
1981 Jim McMahon 1st
1983 Steve Young 1st
1984 Robbie Bosco 2nd
1990 Ty Detmer 1st
1991 Ty Detmer 1st
1996 Steve Sarkisian 3rd

Sammy Baugh Trophy College Passer of the Year

On February 21, 1997, Steve Sarkisian became the seventh BYU quarterback to win the prestigious Sammy Baugh Trophy. Presented each year by the Touchdown Club of Columbus, the Sammy Baugh Award recognizes the college passer of the year. In winning, Sarkisian joined Gary Sheide (1974), Marc Wilson (1979), Jim McMahon (1981), Steve Young (1983), Robbie Bosco (1984) and Ty Detmer (1991) as Cougars who have won the award.

Other notables who have won the award include Bob Griese (1966), Don Strock (1972), Tommy Krammer (1976), John Elway (1982), Vinny Testaverde (1986), Steve Walsh (1988), Jeff George (1989), David Klingler (1990), Elvis Grbac (1992), Trent Dilfer (1993), Kerry Collins (1994) and Danny Wuerffel (1995).