Tyce Routson
Head Diving Coach
(801) 422-4874
RB 153

Tyce Routson (tyce_routson@byu.edu) is entering his sixth season as the BYU head diving coach after his hire in the spring of 2015.

The 2020 MPSF Diving Coach of the Year, Routson most recently helped the Cougars advance all 12 of their divers to NCAA Zone competition with Kennedy Cribbs qualifying for the NCAA Championships and earning All-America honors. Mickey Strauss was also named 2020 MPSF Diver of the Year after sweeping all three diving titles at the MPSF Championships.

In all, Routson has led BYU divers to nine individual conference titles. In 2016, the Cougars won the MPSF title, earning the 2016 MPSF Diving Coach of the Year and helping Eric Muir win the conference's Freshman Diver of the Year award. BYU finished 21st at the NCAA Championships. 

Routson is a four-time NCAA champion and 11-time All-American in springboard and platform diving at the University of Miami. Before being named head diving coach, Routson served as the national and international team director at the Mission Viejo Nadadores Diving Team.

Routson won three NCAA titles in the 10-meter platform and won another in the 3-meter springboard during his college career. He was named the 1997 NCAA Diver of the Year before serving a mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Buenos Aires, Argentina, from 1997-99. After returning, he won his fourth NCAA title in the 10-meter platform in 2000. He also was a finalist at the Olympic Trials in 1996 and 2000, finishing as high as sixth.

In addition to his experience with the Mission Viejo Nadadores Diving Team, Routson has also coached diving at Fullerton College and with the SoCal Divers and Arizona Rippers Dive Club. 

Routson graduated from Miami with a bachelor’s degree in international finance and marketing. He was inducted into the University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame in 2011. Routson and his wife, Allison, have four daughters.

BYU Hall of Fame